Sleeves Cut Off


31
August 20, 2009, 12:13 pm
Filed under: Running | Tags: , ,

Food – muesli, bananas, juice, apples, 2 x tuna sandwiches, beans on toast.

Exercise – approx 27k in 3.5 hours.

+++

Just wasn’t meant to be, last night. When I set off I felt like Cristiano Ronaldo, by the time I finished I felt like his car.

My left leg is almost 100%, but my right must have decided it was his turn. I was travelling fine when I got to Surry Hills, but once I turned to head back my right calf started to complain. I pushed through it okay, but I was having trouble finding (cheap) water and just past the two hour mark I was feeling a bit out of it and the calf was no good. I finally found some water and pushed a bit further, but it was a cold night and everything was seizing up at that stage. Walked the last 5 or 6 k to home, so my time was blown out hugely. If I recover okay I’ll try the same route on Sunday. Can’t afford to get too down with only a month to go.

Lesson learned. Next time (even) more stretching, and get the water in early, not when it’s too late.

Course 190809

R